Why has no one invented the tardis rucksack?

My name’s Phil and I’m a last-minute-panic-rucksack-buyer.

There I’ve said it.

Damn…  Publicly admitting my rash behaviour is not making me feel any better. If I become an alcoholic there’ll be no helping me.

Mind you I do feel like drowning my sorrows right now… You see, I have two perfectly adequate, but tatty rucksacks – my old one with a broken pocket and one kindly lent to me by a friend.

Yet in a moment of blind panic last Saturday I decided it was wise to splash out quite a few pounds on a shiny new one.

Upon seeing it some hours later Sophie immediately declared that it was too small. I  retorted ‘but look it’s got a detachable day bag’…

She said ‘hmm’ and delivered a perfect Sean Connery eyebrow raise.

And sure enough when I finally began to pack tonight, it took me about ten minutes to realise that something was going to have to give.

I either accept defeat on the shiny new rucksack (with detachable day bag) and revert back to a tatty but slightly bigger one or cut my cargo.

If I do go for the cutting cargo option can reducing my boxer shorts quota from seven to five when going away for six months really be viable? (that’s not even a pair a month…)

Now I understand why Sophie wasn’t too keen on the smaller backpack!;-)

About travellingtoothbrushes

We are a couple of journalists with restless toothbrushes. Our teeth scrubbers seem unable to leap out of their respective washbags to take up a permanent residency on the bathroom shelf. So, we've decided to let them live the way they want to and take them on a trip around South America...
This entry was posted in Words of wisdom (teeth). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why has no one invented the tardis rucksack?

  1. Rachel says:

    Okay, it was a carpet bag and not a backpack, but Mary Poppins had a tardis bag. Useful for transporting lampshades and all sorts. I haven’t seen one yet in Milletts, though!

Leave a Reply

